A small introduction

About Us

The Health Tech Hub team is based at the University of the West of England (UWE), Bristol and is led by Professors Janice Kiely and Richard Luxton. The founding partners that will join UWE in the delivery of these goals are the West of England Academic Health Science Network, University of Bristol, Sirona Care and Health, Designability, Dycem Ltd and P3 Medical Ltd.

Management Team

Janice Kiely

Prof Janice Kiely


Prof Richard Luxton


Tim Cox

Dr Tim Cox

Director of Research and Enterprise

David Attwood

Dr David Attwood

Director of Industrial Partnerships

Scientific Team

Martina Piano

Dr Martina Piano

Research Fellow

John Eveness

Dr John Eveness

Research Fellow

Dr Jackie Barnett

Research Fellow

Ibidapo S Williams

Dr Ibidapo S Williams

Research Fellow

David Ferrier

Dr David Ferrier

Research Fellow

Dr Paul Worgan

Research Fellow

Kathryn Lamb-Riddell

Dr Kathryn Lamb-Riddell

Senior Research Technician

Sue Tyler

Sue Tyler

Senior Research Technician

Jeff Davey

Dr Jeff Davey

Senior Research Technician

James G H Whiting

Dr James G H Whiting

Senior Lecturer

David Western

Dr David Western

Senior Lecturer

Beverly Andrew

Research Fellow

Dr Alex Yue

Senior Lecturer

Patrick Wraith

Visiting Researcher

Office Support Team

Julie Maggs

Julie Maggs

Operations and Marketing Officer

Anna Myshenkova

Anna Myshenkova

Finance Officer

Lucy Gooch

Admin Assistant

Academic Members

Prof Praminda Caleb-Solly

Professor of Intelligent Assistive Technologies

Dr Roshan Weerasekera

Senior Lecturer in Electronic Engineering

Dr Ben Lacy de Costello

Senior Research Fellow

Prof Tushar Dhavale

Programme Leader in Mechanical Engineering

Dr Kevin Honeychurch

Senior Lecturer in Forensic Science

Dr Jason Mansell

Associate Professor in Biomedical Science

Prof Quan Zhu

Professor in Control Systems

Dr Dann Turner

Lecturer in Molecular Biology